Here  you will find an outline of the coursework throughout the quarter. This outline and related assignments are subject to change depending on schedules and on the level of reporting required for specific projects. For a complete syllabus with details on how assignments will be graded, refer to the syllabus posted in Coursework and on our Google Drive folder and also handed out in class.

Class date Topic
Tuesday, Jan. 5 Defining the story and the data
Thursday, Jan. 7 Campaign finance: data and stories. Ben Welsh of the LA Times — guest speaker.
Tuesday, Jan. 12 Negotiating for data
Thursday, Jan. 14 Backgrounding and research
Tuesday, Jan. 19 Eric Lipton of the New York Times — guest speaker.
Thursday, Jan. 21 Mapping for presentation — ESRI storymaps and Carto DB.
Tuesday, Jan. 26 Finding and reporting your data story.
Thursday, Jan. 28 Reporting on racial profiling. Where is the story?
Tuesday, Feb. 2 The ladder of data. Jennifer LaFleur of Center for Investigative Reporting/Reveal — guest speaker.
Thursday, Feb. 4 Data viz for exploration.
Tuesday, Feb. 9 Data viz for presentation dos and don’ts.
Thursday, Feb. 11 Writing the data story.
Tuesday, Feb. 16 Seminar: When mapping tells a story you otherwise would miss. A case study with work by investigative reporter Michael J. Berens. (Date may change).
Thursday, Feb. 18 News meeting: group project and individual stories.
Tuesday, Feb. 23 All data is dirty data — veracity, cleaning and standardizing.
Thursday, Feb. 25 Using statistics for journalism.
Tuesday, March 1 Using regression and advanced statistics.
Thursday, March 3 More stats: because you can never study it enough.
Tuesday, March 8 Final story presentations.
Thursday, March 10 Final story presentations.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *